Share View All

October 14, 2015

Kennewick educators receive Governor’s Lifesaving Awards

Two Kennewick School District employees, along with three officers from the Kennewick Police Department, are recipients of the 2015 Governor’s Lifesaving Awards for administering CPR and using an AED to save the life of a contracted school employee.

Ty Cronenwett, a teacher at Legacy High School, and Michelle Larrabee, the dean of students at Eastgate Elementary, came to the aid of an unresponsive woman in a car at the Fruitland Building last summer.

Mr. Cronenwett, who also coaches in the district, had received first aid and CPR training the day before the incident and immediately began performing CPR with another unidentified passerby. Mrs. Larrabee was responsible for retrieving the AED unit from the school.

Also honored were Joe Jackson, Holly Baynes, and Rebecca Jones, officers of the Kennewick Police Department, who responded to the incident and used the AED on the woman until paramedics arrived.

The woman, who survived, wishes to remain anonymous.

A total of 32 award winners were honored at the Governor’s Industrial Safety and Health Conference in Tacoma on August 22 in Tacoma for performing “hands-on” aid in saving a life.